Aug 31 12:17 EDT

Task Forces

Competitiveness Task Force

The Economic Competitiveness Task Force tackles two key areas: implementation of Urban Land Institute recommendations regarding Pasco County permitting and development processes; and, development of quality real estate product in Pasco County.  Its core, activities are focused on factors that impede office and industrial real estate development, including redevelopment in Pasco County. It works very closely on this mission with Pasco County as well as Pasco‚Äôs six cities. Current key priorities include:

  • Land and building inventory program
  • Certified Sites Program
  • Preservation of key industrial parcels
  • Streamlining development review process
  • Elimination of commercial platting

Chair - Stew Gibbons, Connerton
Vice Chair - Mike Lawson, Metro Development Group, LLC

Keith Appenzeller, King Engineering Associates, Inc.
Josh Bomstein, Creative Contractors, Inc.
John Brasher, Berkshire Hathaway
Kevin Bynum, Long & Associates Architects/Engineers
Matt Call, Starkey Ranch
C. Powers Dorsett, III, Bell Fruit LLC
Renee Dyer, Berkshire Hathaway
Bruce Erhardt, Cushman & Wakefield of Florida
Pat Gassaway, Heidt Design, LLC
Richard Gehring, Pasco County
Kartik Goyani, Metro Development Group, LLC
Melanie Kendrick, Pasco County
Mike Lawson, Metro Development Group, LLC

Paul Manuel, Coastal Design Consultants, Inc.
Dave Marshall, Batson-Cook Company
Tari Mitchell, Midwest Regional Bank
Brent Nye, Nye Commercial Advisors
Ed Rogers,
Heidt Design, LLC
Stuart Rogers, Dewberry
Danielle Ruiz, Duke Energey
Trey Starkey, Starkey Land Company, LLC
Greg Wegener, Coastal Design Consultants, Inc.
Barbara Wilhite, Barbara L. Wilhite, P.A.
Scott Worley, Eikon Consultant Group, LLC

Task Force meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month from 8:00 - 9:30 at the Pasco EDC office.

Growth Task Force

The Economic Growth Task Force develops programs and partnerships that help businesses grow and create jobs.  Its activities have focused on creating tools like SMARTstart which includes the Business Incubator, Pasco Microloan program, CO.STARTERS, and BizGROW 2.0 program.  It also works on creating alliances with county, regional and state organizations, such as Pasco Enterprise Network, GrowFL, Florida High Tech Corridor Council, USF Connect, Pasco-Hernando Community College, and Saint Leo University.  Current key priorities include:

  • Development of business peer-to-peer coaching system
  • Implementation of SBA Community Advantage program
  • Development of seed/angel fund network
  • Development of technology accelerator

Chair - vacant
Vice Chair - Michele Hintson, Shumaker, Loop, and Kendrick, LLP

Jimmy Adcock, Tampa Electric/Peoples Gas
Boyd Brown, Centennial Bank 
Renee Dyer, Berkshire Hathaway
Chip Falk, BB&T Bank
Jim Hammond, SCORE
Donna Houchen, Eckerd Youth Alternatives, Inc.
Melanie Kendrick, Pasco County
Skip Miller, SunTrust Bank
Tari Mitchell, Midwest Regional Bank
Teri Nichols, Spherion Staffing
Bill Roberts, Berkshire Hathaway
Ed Spenceley, Bank of America
Scott Worley, Eikon Consultant Group, LLC

Task Force meets the 1st Wednesday of each month from 8:30 - 10:00 AM at Pasco EDC office.

Marketing Task Force

The Marketing Task Force plans marketing and lead generation programs for the Pasco Economic Development Council, including attraction of new businesses, creation and expansion of local businesses, and cultivation of stakeholder and community support.  It also aligns its initiatives with other allies such as Pasco County Tourism Development Council, the Tampa Bay Partnership, and Enterprise Florida.  Current key priorities include:

  • Creation and roll out of new targeted marketing plan
  • Pasco branding initiative with Tourism Development Council and Pasco County
  • Implementation of International investment/trade promotion program
  • Development of comprehensive community recognition awards program

Chair - Carol McDaniel, Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital
Vice Chair - Danielle Ruiz, Duke Energy


Adam Carnegie, Stantec
Bruce Erhardt, Cushman & Wakefield
Candace Glewen, MidFlorida Credit Union
Lauren Jolly, Spherion Staffing
Mark Klein, Klein & Heuchan, Inc.

Dave Marshall, Batson-Cook Company
Mary Sommise, Medical Center of Trinity

Task Force meets the 2nd Thursday of each month from 8:30 - 10:00 AM at Pasco EDC office. 

Fundraising Task Force

The Fundraising Task Force develops programs and initiatives to raise funds for the organization.  Typically, it has helped staff put together lists of prospective members and directors, accompanied staff on fundraising calls, and helped make group presentations and hold investor events.  Current key priorities include:

  • Increase in revenue from new investors for base funding as well as for key programs
  • Revision of investor benefit schedules for different funding levels
  • Development of a program of regular investor contact and engagement improvement of stakeholder recognition programs

Chair - Joe MarinaWithlacoochee River Electric

Vice Chair - Chip Falk, BB&T Bank

Jimmy Adcock, TECO Energy
Dewey Mitchell, Berkshire Hathaway

Lex Smith, SunTrust Bank
Trey Starkey, Starkey Land Company 


International Committee

The International Committee develops strategies, alliances, resources, and programs to increase export sales from Pasco County and to increase jobs from foreign direct investment.  It also works to build Pasco community capacity and competitiveness with respect to international trade and investment.  Current key priorities include:

  • Creation of an international trade and investment strategic plan for Pasco County
  • Design and roll-out of export assistance services
  • Implementation of international promotion program
  • Development of plans/initiatives for international cultural/educational support program
  • Creation of host committee for visiting delegations 



More in this category: « Testimonials Committees »